Gotcha Day Celebrations (ft. Uncle Mau)

Saturday, June 3rd was Ceiba’s Gotcha Day.

I made biscuits for Ceiba (and the Schnauzer Squad).
I used wheat flour, water, an egg, oatmeal, and bits of hot dog.

Dough

Dough 2

Dough 3

Biscuits 3

Biscuits 2

Biscuits

The morning before Ceiba’s Gotcha Day,
I took him to the park nearby and he ran around for a good while.

Ceiba at the park

Ceiba at the park 3

Ceiba at the park 2

Ceiba at the park 4

On Saturday, Ceiba and I went on two walks in the morning, and then my dear friend Mau came over in the afternoon to celebrate with us. Mau coming over really meant a lot to me, especially since he wasn’t feeling very well that day. He still took the time to hang out with us, go for a little walk with Ceiba & Jasmine in the forest on our property, take some fun photos, and watch Ceiba gobble up his biscuits.

I’d actually like to give a shout-out to Mau, because he is a truly special person and an exceptional animal uncle. He is also one of the wisest people I know. He may not realize it, but there have been certain conversations that we’ve had that have been very significant to me and my personal growth.

Mau has made comments and observations that I’ve found to be illuminating. He challenges me to think deeper and be more honest about my feelings, while also helping me to trust my essence and be more gentle with myself. Mau is the kind of person that makes you feel that, if he would want to be your friend, it means that you must be doing something right.

In April, I had a difficult day where I felt pretty awful and sort of stained from a recent situation. I asked Mau if he could come be with me for a bit, although I hadn’t yet told him about what had happened. Right away, he agreed to come see me and offer his support, no questions asked.

Last year, when I rescued a Pit Bull that had been running loose on the highway, Mau helped me to arrange vet visits, drove us to the appointments (as well as pharmacies to pick up medicine), and saved us all by finding someone to foster her. When we rescued three newborn kittens last September, Mau was the one who found someone to adopt two of them. He’s also taken care of Ceiba and some of the Schnauzer Squad when my family and I were at the beach with Grandfather (the dog, not my grandpa). 😉

Mau is very good at creative writing, existing as an awesome human, being a true friend, and making beautiful tiny cabins that are just perfect for hamster photoshoots. He is also the only person that I have a promise-breaking ritual with (long story, but oh my goodness, you don’t know how much fun we had when it was created!), and he even got me an amazing customized shirt that references our ritual.

I love you so much, Mau! Thank you for always taking such good care of both Ceiba and me. We are very blessed to have you as a friend, and I hope you know how appreciated and adored you are. Thank you very much for spending time with us on Ceiba’s Gotcha Day and turning it into a proper tiny party. You know that his Gotcha Day–and our entire lives–just would not be the same without you.

Uncle Mau

This entry was posted in All Posts, Ceiba Soul and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

