And then there are those days.

Despite one’s best efforts, sometimes there are days that leave you turned inside out and upside down. The past few days have been pretty stressful for the Schnauzer Squad and me. (Though as I write this at the big wooden table outside, all the dogs are scattered around on the floor and steps, sleeping peacefully. All is well. And all’s well that ends well, I suppose.) At some point, I might do a re-cap of this week, but for now, I’m just going to take a deep breath and focus on a few of my favorite inspiring lyrics, pieces of poetry, and quotes. (I swear I even have tattoo ideas for some of these…)

“A city wall and a trampoline.” – The Killers, Read My Mind

“They tried to bury us. They didn’t know we were seeds.” (Can anyone say “DAMN”?!) I believe it was originally written as “what didn’t you do to bury me / but you forgot that I was a seed” by the Greek poet Dinos Christianopoulos.

“underestimation is my favorite inspiration” – ❤ Jennifer Nettles, Change

“you’ve been in this business awhile, but baby, baby, I’ve been destined since birth” –  Jennifer Nettles, Listen

The following words are from Andrea Gibson, one of my favorite poets. All of this poetry can be found in their book The Madness Vase.

“I said to the sun, ‘Tell me about the big bang.’
The sun said, ‘It hurts to become.'”

“… sometimes the break in your heart
is like the hole in the flute.

Sometimes it’s the place
where the music comes through.”

“My kindness knows mermaids
never ever miss their legs in the water
because there are better ways to move
through an ocean than kicking.”

“This is my heartbeat.
Like yours, it is a hatchet.
It can build a house
or tear one down.”

“So go ahead, world, pick us
to make things better.”

“You’ve traveled this far on the back of every mistake” – Dorianne Laux, Antilamentation

“I know the world is crazy. I know love is not always the way it’s meant to be. I know sometimes, things hurt. But I also know that we’ll get through this. That our hearts will arrive on the other side, in one piece. That everything is beautiful, if we give it the chance to be.” — Iain Thomas, I Wrote This for You. (Iain Thomas is the fellow behind that one quote that you probably think was written by Kurt Vonnegut. Yeah. It’s really, really not. But you can thank the internet for that.)

“something I can’t change, I’ll live around it” – Goo Goo Dolls, Slide. One of my favorite songs.

“You can either allow the obstacles in your life to be the excuse for your failure or make them the reason behind your success.”

“Be gentle with yourself, you’re doing the best you can.”

“‘[Live happily ever after]? I don’t think it’s quite what you meant… but one way or another, I rather think I will.'” – Patricia C. Wrede, Dealing With Dragons

This entry was posted in All Posts, Schnauzer Squad and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And then there are those days.

  1. El Rolyat says:

    …“what didn’t you do to bury me / but you forgot that I was a seed”
    DAMN! Just damn.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

